Emotional Me!

I am feeling so emotional right now. My husband is not here. He’s out of town and I miss him so much. It’s times like this that I remember why I got married in the first place. He’s so thoughtful, has a great sense of humor and has great taste. He picked me, didn’t he?

In the midst of our rush-rush society, we can sometimes forget what attracted us to our mate in the first place. Lately he had been getting on my nerves (it has been 18 1/2 years), but now that he’s gone, his absence is almost unbearable. He’s not even coming back until Tuesday afternoon. I feel like crying. I thought that I was through being emotional, but I guess not.

I am still the same ole’ emotional me!

BEARSIE BEAR by Bernard Waber

The book, BEARSIE BEAR AND THE SURPRISE SLEEPOVER, was nice. It was a bit long, but easy to read. I wouldn’t recommend it for those under 4. I had to shorten some of the dialogue because my daughter was starting to get restless.

bearsie-bear.jpg

The book has a lot of memorable characters with names like Bearsie Bear, Moosie Moose, Cowsie Cow, Piggie Pig, Foxie Fox, Goosie Goose, Porkie Porcupine.

When the story starts, it’s cold outside, but it’s warm inside where Bearsie Bear is. Suddenly there is a knock on the door. Who is it but Moosie Moose who needs somewhere to sleep? He wants to come in out of the cold. Piggie Pig agrees. Moosie Moose jumps into the bed. They say goodnight. Just as they are falling asleep, there is another knock on the door. It’s Cowsie Cow who also wants to come in out of the cold; she also wants to sleep over. Piggie Pig agrees.

The story continues in this fashion until Porkie Porcupine knocks on the door and wants to come in. Can you guess what happens when Porkie Porcupine jumps in the bed? Read the book to find out.

Besides Bearsie Bear, Waber has written other such memorable books as: Lyle, Lyle Crocodile & Ira Sleeps Over.

For a complete list of his other books, visit the Houghton Mifflin website.

Check it out!

Cute For No Reason

When I was in junior high school, I had this teacher named Mrs. Morris. Mrs. Morris could dress her butt off. She was truly a fashionista. One day I overheard some of the teachers saying that she needed to stop dressing like she was going to a fashion show.

Why should she? Would it be better if she came to school looking like a rag mop? Why can’t she dress like she’s going to a fashion show? Why can’t she be cute for no reason?

There are days when I get up and decide that I am just too cute for anything less than fabulous. I say to myself that today is the day that I’m going to be cute for no reason.”

Of course back in junior high school I didn’t do that. For one thing, I didn’t think that I could have Mrs. Morris’ flair for fashion. I didn’t have the confidence that I have now, nor did I have any money.

I have since developed my own sense of style over the years. Since then, there have been the days that I have been cute for no reason.

As I mentioned a couple of days ago, I am going back to Ann Taylor when time permits. I am going to put a hurting on my credit card. :)

Maybe I’ll have some tongues wagging at my new school because I look like I’m going to a fashion show.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers