HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!!

dad.gif

Hey, I almost forgot to say HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to all the great fathers out there.

This is for my husband from our children!



I Already Did That!

I was just thinking about when I first took my 9-year old to Pre-K. I didn’t explain to him that he had to keep on going. I hyped it up and made sure he knew that he was going to be in a classroom setting. I told him that there were going to be other kids there too, but that he wouldn’t be staying there forever; he would only be there for 3 1/2 hours/day. I let him know that it was only temporary.

100_0662-phillises-1st-day-of-school.jpg

 

(Phillise’s 1st day of school) I didn’t, however, do the same for my little girl. When she started pre-K last year, it was all day. Silly me didn’t tell her that she was going to be there all day and that she had to take a nap. I had just forgotten to tell her. When the time came for her to take a nap, she was very resistant. She started crying and asking for me. I, of course, didn’t know this because I was at work. When I picked her up she was a wreck. She asked me why I left her.

I felt awful. How could I have forgotten to tell her? I tried to explain to her that it didn’t mean that she was going to stay there forever, it just meant that she could get some rest. Well, she didn’t buy that. Boy was she mad at me.

One thing that I’ve realized is that you have to explain, explain, explain. Even if it seems silly or commonplace for you, do it anyway. They’ve only been on this earth for a short time. Maybe they haven’t heard what you want to tell them. It won’t be insulting their intelligence if you explain it in a way that takes their age into account.

This reminds me of teaching. Having a classroom full of students is just like having many, many children. I am not the type to remain unattached anymore. I am in this for the long haul. The children that I work with really matter to me. As a result, I become very involved with them. They know that I’m married, how many children I have and other stuff about my life. I know that that seems to be breaking the rules, but I don’t care. I’m very comfortable doing that. The kids feel like they’re a part of my life when I share with them.

Just remember, just because you already did that, it doesn’t mean that they have.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers