Shame On You PBS!

I have a little something to get off my chest about PBS’ programming. I can remember a time when PBS meant quality programming and educational shows.
barney2.jpg That is not the case anymore. It all started a couple of years ago when they took off a classic, Reading Rainbow. They also got rid of this show called Puzzle Place. Does anyone out there remember Puzzle Place? It was the best show. It taught values and how to act. That was replaced with the likes of Barney, Teletubbies and Boohbah.

Boohbah?boohbah1.jpg
What the hell are they? What is the show about? I ask myself that the whole time I’m watching it as I’m beating my head against the wall because my daughter thinks it’s cute. It’s neither cute nor educational. It makes me wonder why PBS even picked it up in the first place. I wonder what they were thinking. It’s mindless drivel.

Teletubbies? I don’t even have words. I don’t care how cute my 5-year old thinks it is, I’m putting a stop to it and so should you PBS.teletubbies-happypreview.png

In less than 10 years, you went from having some of the best programs on the air, to airing stuff like Boohbah! For shame, PBS! For shame! You can do a lot better!

7 Responses

  1. As a mother, I can attest to this. I like when she watching Sesame Street, but as far as PBS goes? There’s not much else. I HATE and DESPISE Teletubbies and Boohbah. What the hell ARE they? What is the purpose?

    I was also pissed when they took Melanie off of the Goodnight Show. When she was in college, she made a spoof public service announcement making fun of abstinence. Ok, not smart, but what did that have to do with anything? The little toddlers watching that show would never know about that. They pulled her off because of her moral character, they claim, yet they air shows like Thomas and Sesame Street. Thomas is sometimes narrated by Alec Baldwin and George Carlin. George Carlin! The comedian! Sesame street has had Robin Williams on. James Gandolfini… Their moral characters are better than a girl who made one spoof video in college? That ticked me off.

  2. Yes, we are in agreement. PBS needs to get it together and do better by the children.

  3. luckily my kids never got sucked into that Barney/Tellitubbies Crap!

    that said…

    my boys watch stuff that may not be age appropriate for them

    it is great to put in Harold and the Purple Crayon or another Scholastic Video and see them get hypnotized

    Corduroy is Awesome!

  4. I have decided to wean her off the Teletubbies/Barney junk food diet. I am so ashamed of PBS.

  5. MI AMIGA ES IGUALITA A LOS TELETUBBIES
    ES IDENTICA 100% IGUAL ES LA NUMERO 1NO QUE
    SE PARESCAN A LOS TELETUBBIES

  6. hola me recuerdan mucho cuando era pequeña ahora tengo89 años mi nieta escribo esto para mi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

