The Time Has Come, The Time Is Now. Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now?

The time has come, the time is now. Marvin K. Mooney, will you please go now?

marvin-k-mooney.jpg

The time has come- for me to teach Phillise how to read, that is. I have been putting off teaching her how to read long enough. I started on it, but was not consistent with it. Today, I decided was the day to get serious. So I went back to Starfall.com and am in the middle of making lesson plans for us for the rest of the week. I’m going to do it one week at a time. I guess I’m homeschooling her for the summer. Boy, I really admire homeschoolers now that I see how hard it is. Especially with your own child!

I have taught many children how to read. Most notably Dakota, who was reading on a 5th grade level when he was in kindergarten. Somehow I fell of the wagon like I tend to do. I didn’t teach David how to read. By the time he was ready to learn, I had had Phillise. He started pre-K when she was 3 weeks old. It was all I could do just to get him to school at 11:00 and return to pick him up @ 2:20. What a joke!

That’s my only excuse. That I was swamped with a brand new baby, a little boy starting pre-k, with Sam & Dakota in middle school with a bus stop time of 6:15 a.m. while trying to keep the house clean, cook and be a good wife.

Okay, now that the excuse making is out of the way. I feel ashamed of myself. Here I am, a future teacher and I have barely spent time this summer teaching my own baby how to read. Well, I am indeed Marvin K. Mooney. He did not move until it was time. Guess what, it is time.

The time had come, so Marvin went…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers