I Can Totally Afford All This Cheese!

Does anyone remember that line from the California lottery commercials when the lottery first came here? The commercial was shot from the vantage point of someone shopping in a grocery store looking at all the salami and cheese and thinking that it wasn’t out of their reach anymore.

He is so happy that he has won the lottery. What he is most happy about, though, is the fact that he can afford all of the stuff that he couldn’t before. It is no longer out of his reach; it is something that is real now.

That’s how I feel right now. I didn’t win the lottery, but I did discover that I can totally afford all this cheese. In other words, I can do this teaching thing. I was having my doubts because it’s taking longer than I thought to get a job.

However, things are on the upswing. My life changed for the better today when I observed my potential classroom in action.

I went for the interview two days ago and so impressed the Assistant Principals, that I was asked to come in for the day, observe the class to see where they’re at, then make a lesson plan to teach them in direct instruction.

In this class, like many classes, the students are at so many different levels. They range from non-verbal to 3rd grade level of reading. This shouldn’t be too much of a problem because in my last job, I used to do that all the time.

What I’m excited about is that I feel like I can really do this. I can totally be a teacher! This is such a big relief because this is what I have wanted since 1996 when I first discovered that I wanted to be a teacher when I was a tutor for the World Literacy Crusade. This is what I have been working for. It seems like everything is finally starting to pay off.

I just want to put it out there that I really want this job. It seems like it was made for me. I am really excited. Today I felt so alive when I was employing the many strategies that I have learned over the years. I felt like this is what I was born to do. Of course everything isn’t going to be easy, but I’m ready to step up to the plate.

What I am especially excited about is this child who is a major discipline problem. Excited, you say? About a discipline problem?

Yes, I am excited. It’s because I feel like this could be a major victory for me and for this child. He is just crying out for help and I want to help him. I don’t want him to be throw-a-way kid who is just bounced from school to school because he is so much of a problem. I think that if I tackle this problem now, it won’t be such a big problem when I encounter it again. I really want to help this kid so much. If I don’t, then who will?

I usually have problems with kids like this, but I have to face up to. He kinda’ on his way out. This would make my job so much easier if he were out, but I didn’t go into special ed for an easy life. I went into it to make a difference in lives of kids just like this. He is just crying out for help and I want to help him. The principal and Assistant Principals there are very supportive. I know that with their support and the help of my teachers at B.N.U. that I can handle it.

Even if I don’t get this job (although I really hope I do) I know that I can do this.

Famous last words? I hope not!

3 Responses

  1. You’ve been tagged to participate in Unit Opener Planning Week. Please consider posting on your plans for opening upcoming units.

  2. Thank you so much for tagging me Mathew. I’m working on it right now. I will post later on this weekend.

  3. [...] which past winners described small, telling moments in the days after their million dollar wins. My favorite was the laid-back dude who, as the camera pans the deluxe meat and cheese aisle in his supermarket, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

