I’m Exhaling!

Phew!!! Now I can exhale! I made it through my first week. Guess what? I still love it. Warts and all. The first day I was scared. I figured that those kids were going to eat me alive; but I faced it. My class represented my worst classroom management fear. They fight and run out the classroom on a regular basis; there were three fights; a kid told me that he hated me and didn’t want me to be his new teacher, and another kid called me a “Ho”**. ALL ON THE FIRST DAY! BEFORE RECESS!!!

SCHOOLHOUSE

Yeah. I know! I’m not upset though. I know that they’re just challenging me. I expected it. All in all I’m pleased with the progress that I’ve made in the four days that I’ve been there. One of the kids that run out of the classroom and who I had to send out of the classroom 5 times on the first day alone, actually sat down for 10 whole minutes and participated in class. That is quite an accomplishment, I’d say.

I don’t know what the future holds, but I know that if God brought me to it, he’ll bring me through it! I will post tomorrow about what we’ve been doing these past couple of days.

Until next time. Hasta la bye-bye!

** I have been addressing all the behavior “issues” that have come up. For the “Ho” part, I drew, to the best of my abilities, an actual hoe and explained to them that it is a garden tool, and that if they’re using it in any other way, that it is just not the right way.**

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers