Posted in life, teaching

Making Lemonade!


I have been given a batch of lemons and I am going to make some of the best lemonade you’ve ever tasted.

On my first day of work it seemed to me that everyone was looking at me like, “Poor thing”. She’s not even going to make it through the day.

I know that is is true because another teacher told me that he didn’t think that I would make it through the week. Boy were they surprised that not only did I make it through the first week, I made it through the second, and the third, etc.

Not only did I make it through but I, along with my assistants, have managed to whip my class into shape. My one student, Toolie, who would not stay in class all day for the first 1 1/2 weeks, now sits in his seat and does work. He still disrupts every now and again. The key point is every now and again, not every 10-15 minutes.

My other student, Robin, who used to run into the classroom and throw stuff, now sits down and asks for more work. Not only that, but he’s my classroom helper. I made him the paper monitor. Not only does it make him feel useful, but it also gives him a chance to move around so that he doesn’t have to sit still for long periods of time.The only real problem that I still have is Lito who is very disrespectful and disruptive. He’s not as disruptive as Toolie used to be but he’s still a disruption.

Since there are only two reasons that children act up/out (attention seeking and/or avoidance), it is my belief that he’s doing it for attention because he can do the work but he doesn’t choose to. I am trying to give him as much attention as I can, but realistically, I cannot give him all the attention that he needs. Even though I only have 10 students, I still cannot stop class, and/or let him do what he wants. Ultimately he needs to conform to class standards no matter what his problems are.

I am happy about the current classroom situation. Do you hear what I’m saying? Only one student really gives me problems. This is like a minor miracle. This is all thanks to being firm and consistent. A while ago I wrote a post about leadership and the leader taking the class and/or business in the direction that they want it to go. I know what direction I want my classroom to go in. I want and need a peaceful, organized, and structured environment, so that is what I have been and am working for.

I, with God’s help, have managed to do what a lot of people did not think that I could do. I am so happy that I trusted the Lord; that he would bring me through. I know that everything is not said and done, and that I may very well have to do some heavy review after Christmas break, but I know that if God brought me this far, that he’s going to take me even further.

I have effectively taken lemons and made some very good lemonade. I am looking forward to my wrap-up report at the end of the year.

Until next time!