I Got A New Student!

On Thursday I got a new student who didn’t want to come into my class. She cried at the end of the day. I asked her what was wrong and she said that she didn’t want to be in my class.

“Why?” I asked her. I want to go back to my old class. I didn’t want to leave my friends. I liked my teacher.

Okay, get up. Go splash some water on your face and calm down. If you want to cry, you can cry. Do you want to cry?

“No,” she replied. Okay, well do you want to go in the back of the classroom and have 10 minutes’ cool-off time in the library.

She weakly replied yes.

“You’ll like it here,” I told her. You have ten minutes to calm down. After that I expect you to join the group ready to work.

“Do you understand?”

“Yes,” she nodded.

After ten minutes she was fine. Before she returned to the group, I showed her around the classroom. I let her see all the centers (listening, writing, computer, library, and crafts) that were available to her. She loved the crafts center with the miniature die-cutting machine and die cuts, the Sidekick with the little embossing folders the most.

Today was the day that she was supposed to mainstream back into her old class for math.

“I don’t want to go,” she said. I wanna stay. It’s boring there. I like it here.

Wow, after only two days she likes my class. I was so flattered.

Here’s to more moments like this!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers