This Year…

This year has been a very cathartic one for me. It has been a very humbling experience of letting go of old and outdated concepts and friendships.

This year, I learned that I can finish things. Obtaining my once, oh so elusive B.A. was something that I have wanted for at least 10 years. It was the culmination of 18 years of going to school off and on while having and raising four children.

This year, I learned so much about myself. I CAN do what I want.

This year, I, along with millions of others, discovered “The Secret”.

This year, I finally realized my dream of becoming a teacher. Even though it hasn’t been all that I’d thought, I am still so very happy that I have begun the first leg of my journey to help change the world one child at a time.

This year, I learned just how much my husband supports and takes care of me. After 19 years, I admit that sometimes I can take him for granted. However, sometimes you have to stop and realize what’s in front of you.

This year, I started grad school.

This year, my oldest son graduated from high school. One down, three to go.
This year, my middle son started eleventh grade.

This year, my youngest son started fifth grade.

This year, my daughter started kindergarten.

This year, my children are 5, 10, 16, and 18.

This year, I learned the true meaning of hard work. In addition to working and raising four children, I had to do a lot of juggling. Here’s the story: I was deficient a few units. So, in order to finish my degree in time to graduate with my cohort, I was attending four schools: Azusa Pacific on Wednesday, Friday and some Saturdays, R.O.P. in West Covina on some Saturdays, Los Angeles Southwest College on Monday, and finally, Los Angeles Mission College on Sunday. Phew, was I glad when I finished.

This year, I faced some of my greatest fears. I don’t know if I’ll ever fully get over the feeling that I’m not good enough, but I faced it. Going way to Azusa, I felt so out of place. Not to mention how drained I was. Initially I didn’t feel like I fit it. I was one of the only blacks in the program. I felt out of place, but told myself that people are peopole no matter what color they are. Ya’ know what. I ended up making some very good friends once I got over myself and my fears.

This year is almost at an end. So, until next time people!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

