Eureka!

I have something very good to report. One of my students who I’ll call Man-Man, has started reading. I am so, so, so proud of him. When I assumed leadership of the class, I asked him if he wanted to learn. He said that he did.

“Good, I said, that’s the first step. The second and most important step is working hard”. Not once did I tell him that it was not going to be a lot of work. I told him that it would be a lot of work, but it would be well worth it.

He took that challenge to heart. We worked on letter recognition and sounds, and a couple of other things, and Eureka!, Aha! He’s got it! He’s reading. Not only that, he’s now helping others with their work. He’s shouting out answers. I can’t stop him. I wouldn’t even dare to.

I am so proud of him. More importantly, he’s proud of himself. He’s on a roll now. He’s even going to start mainstreaming to another class for Open Court. He is so excited and so am I!

Until next time people!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers