Lito & Meanie!

I feel so bad for me and one of my students, Lito. He mainstreams to another class for 1/2 the day. He loves it. The only problem is that one of the students in the classroom, lets call him Meanie, keeps calling him stupid. Meanie tells Lito that he’s special ed and he doesn’t belong in their class.

I feel bad for me because Lito then returns to class and acts out because he hates being in special ed. I talk to him. I give him treats for doing his work. I praise him. No matter what I do, I can’t placate him. He is mad about what I represent. I represent the situation that he doesn’t want to be in. I represent everything that he sees wrong with himself.

My assistant gave me an idea. She told me about a teacher who she’d worked with before who was experiencing the same thing. She brought the offending children down to the special ed class and left them there for a couple of days. The offenders straightened up after that. That is an elementary school kid’s worst nightmare- to be identified as special ed. So, I think that I’ll talk to the general ed. teacher and see if Meanie could spend the day in my class.

I’ll let you know how that works out. I hope it’s successful! Only time will tell!

Happy Friday!

I haven’t said that in a long time. I am happy to see Friday. Even though this was only a four day week, it seemed long. I am happy that it’s over and I am home for the weekend. I look forward to the weekend so I can do some much needed planning. Twice a month or more if needed, I speak with my assistants about how they feel the class is going. I ask for suggestions, and we just generally chew the fat.

I am getting it together slowly but surely. Until nest time people!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers