I’ve Been Through The Storm And The Rain…

Those words are the beginning of a gospel song that I just love. It says so much.That is exactly the way that I feel. I’ve been through so much this year- with it being my first year of teaching.

Everyone kept telling me that it would get better. Needless to say, I just did not believe them. I could not see the forest for the trees. It seemed like everything was so unnecessarily complicated and unusually hard.

Even though it was a hard time, I had to ask myself if I was glad the school year was over. Well? Yes and no. I’m happy that I have a small break for the summer. But, I am really going to miss the kids. I didn’t think that I would say that at the beginning of the year. Even though someone told me that I would, I just didn’t believe them.

I thought that surely they didn’t know what they were talking about because they hadn’t met my students. As it turned out, they actually did know what they were talking about because, as I stated earlier, I do miss them.

Although there is one student who I am happy to report that I don’t have to deal with or see any longer. I guess there’s always one!

16 Responses

  1. I love that song – I’ve been through the storm and the rain, but I made it. Wher can I find all of the lyrics to it?

  2. I don’t know where you can find it. I googled the song and could not find the lyrics. Sorry!

  3. I LOVE THE SONG I BEEN THROUGH THE STORM AND REIN BUT I MADE IT IT HAS CARRIED ME THROUGH A LOT OF STORMS. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THE ARTIST THAT SINGS IT.

    STAY BLESSED

  4. This was my favorite song to hear my granny sing. I vaguely remember the words below from another woman singing it on a home video. I have been looking for it too!

    I’ve been through the storm and rain, but i made it…???

    I’ve been up, and i’ve been down, i’ve even been level with this ground, but Halelujah! thank you Jesus! thank you Jesus! I made it!

    I was sick, they thought i couldn’t get well. but i made it. Oh, satan thought he’d bind my soul in hell. NO WAY! i made it.!

    I was down to my last dime, I’ve been hungry more than one time…but Halelujah! thank you Jesus! thank you Jesus! I made it!

  5. I FOUND IT – I ASKED MY GRANDMOTHER, A OLD GOSPEL MUSIC GURU – AND I’VE FOUND OUT THE ARTIST
    HIS NAME IS “PERKINS BOWEN”.

    SURE ENOUGH, HE’S THE ONE. THE ONLY PLACES THAT I’VE FOUND THIS SONG IS ON VINYL LP WEBSITES, WHICH I HAVE USED SUCCESSFULLY TO PURCHASE OLD MUSIC ON LP RECORDS.

    REV ORIS MAYS HAS ANOTHER VERSION, WHICH CAN ALSO BE PURCHASED ON LP VINYL. BUT THE REALLY SHOUTER IS PERKINS BOWEN’S VERSION .. HALLELUJAH, I…… MADE IT!

    HOPE THIS HELPS ALL THAT ARE SEARCHING FOR THIS AWESOME OLD SCHOOL GOSPEL RECORD!

  6. if you go to youtube type in Indiana Bible College the song is called Victory.
    the lyrics are
    Chorus:
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Yes I do
    He is a mighty conquerer
    And he abolishes all my battles he’ll find
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Oh then he died
    But he rose on the third day
    That’s why I have true victory every day

    Verse 1:
    Well surely I’ve been through the storm and rain
    I know everything about heartache and pain
    But God carried me through it all
    Without his protection I’d surely fall
    I’ve been broke without a dime to my name
    But all my bills got paid when I called on Jesus Name
    You can’t tell me that God isn’t real
    Because I got the victory and that’s why I’m still here

    Chorus:
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Yes I do
    He is a mighty conquerer
    And he abolishes all my battles he’ll find
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Oh then he died
    But he rose on the third day
    That’s why I have true victory every day

    Verse 2:
    I’m not worried bout material things I don’t have
    I just rest cause I’m sure in my Saviors’ care
    And I know my blessing is on the way
    I can’t see it right now but I save my faith
    I’ve fought many many battles in His Name
    I held up the blood stained, bitter, and proclaimed
    Jesus is the truth and the light
    Believe it when I say that He will make it alright

    Chorus:
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Yes I do
    He is a mighty conquerer
    And he abolishes all my battles he’ll find
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Oh then he died
    But he rose on the third day
    That’s why I have true victory every day

    Bridge 1:
    Yeah, I got the victory, yeah
    I’ve got the victory yeah, yeah, yeah
    And if you’ve have the victory say it along with me
    Yeah, I’ve got the victory, yeah
    Ohhh say it with me

    Chorus:
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Yes I do
    He is a mighty conquerer
    And he abolishes all my battles he’ll find
    I’ve got got the victory
    I’ve got the sweet sweet victory in Jesus
    Oh then he died
    But he rose on the third day
    That’s why I have true victory every day

    Bridge 2:(sang while chorus is sang again)
    (Ohhh I’ve got it, you’ve got it, we’ve got it)

  7. Thanks – I looked for the song “I’ve been through the storm and the rain” for years. I’ve asked several ministers to help me find the song – but to no avail. THANKS, THANKS,and THANKS.

  8. Love that song . I need a CD with the music.

  9. The song “I made it” was performed by Inez Andrews. The album is called “Lord Don’t Move That Mountain”. You can purchase the album off of Amazon or other local music retailers…

    Peace & Blessings
    Zakeia

  10. I need the websight for the song I been though the storm and rain I made it. By perkins Bowen

  11. actually the guy who wrote the song”I made it” name was Gregory Perkins Bowen.but i did find a version of the song that’s said to be the version sang by Inez Andrews @ http://allpraiselyrics.com/inez-andrews/-/i-made-it.html. Hope this is helpful to you. God Bless.

  12. i was a young boy when i first heard gregory in church, i miss those glory filled moments hearing him sing and play the organ. he is the best. i was a member of second mount carmel baptist church and while i was being baptized he was playing live in the background my mother was a choir member my dads name was brother ramsey

  13. Gregory Perkins Bowen – Then and Now..
    Song is called I Made it, its on Amazon.. i just bought it .99

  14. Hello! I am Gregory Perkins Bowen, the writer of the song ‘ I been through the Storm and Rain but I Made It’ I thank all those who have shared their testimonies concerning my song. It has been a blessing to millions. God Bless you all, Gregory Perkins Bowen

  15. Thank you so much for leaving a comment. Your song has gotten me through so many situations that I did not think I would make it through. Those lyrics are truly heaven sent.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

