Struggling…

Have you ever seen a newly formed butterfly struggle out of its cocoon? There are many steps that it has to go through to metamorph to a butterfly.

Now, have you ever heard the story of a man who, seeing the struggle, decides to interfere with nature’s process and help the butterfly out of its cocoon. There were definitely consequences to pay. The man didn’t pay the consequences though, the butterfly did. Since the butterfly did not squeeze out of its cocoon the way nature intended, nature didn’t take its course, blood did not fill the butterfly’s allowing the wings to grow stronger, allowing it fly. The butterfly’s wings did not develop. He did not learn to fly.

As a result of the man’s “helpfulness,” the butterfly was maimed for life. What the man did not realize is that struggle-though it can be hard to watch- is good for us. That’s what I have to tell myself; that a little struggle is good for the soul. I have to tell myself that it’s okay to struggle with some things sometimes. Struggling is a natural part of life. It’s how we become who we are. We have to struggle so that we can know and appreciate what it’s like when we don’t have to struggle so much.

Once I came to the realization that I am indeed human, I realized that maybe, just maybe, it’s     okay to admit that I cannot do everything; that I need help sometimes. However, even though I’ve realized this and have made peace with it, I still don’t do it. I don’t now why, I just don’t.

One of the things I am working on this year is asking for what I need. Even though sometimes it easier to just do it yourself instead of asking for help, believe me when I say that it is better to ask for help when necessary so that you don’t go crazy and have a nervous breakdown.

Remember, asking for help doesn’t make you weak! It’s okay to ask for help if you need it!

Book Club Update #2

The best laid plans of mice and men…

That’s how it feels in regard to my Guys Read book club. I think that we’ve probably started on time once. The start time is 1:15, and it’s only supposed to be 2 hours. However, everyday we start about 2 p.m. and end at about 5, sometimes later. I guess they’re having so much fun that they just don’t want to leave.

Yesterday we went on our weekly trip to the library to return books & get new ones. Let me just say that I have been pleasantly surprised by the fabulous turn out for the summer reading program.

I love that the library offers incentives. They have this thing for the summer called the 1,000 pound book challenge. Children read the book, then weigh it. They are awarded prizes. Yesterday we got Dodger tickets. The kids were psyched. They are looking forward to going.

Have you checked out what your local library is doing for the summer. If not, why not?

Go check it out!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers