All That I Am…

All that I am, I owe to my hard times.

All that I am, I owe to my suffering.

All that I am, I owe to doing what I didn’t want to do.

All that I am, I owe to being hard headed.

All that I am, I owe to my good times.

All that I am, I owe to my joyous times.

All that I am, I owe to my willingness to listen.

All that I am, I owe to God.

I just wrote this as I was preparing to write this post because I have been looking back and reflecting on my wildly unsettling, yet wildly successful year last year. There were so many cards stacked against me.

It was not a good time in my life, but, you have to think about it,  how else can a diamond be formed unless it’s put under an enormous amount of pressure? How else can iron be forged if it’s not put into the fire?

There were many times where I thought that I just could not possibly make it another day; when I just wanted to lay down and give up. Just then, I would hear this small, still voice that would let me know that everything would be okay.

I can’t believe I survived. I know that I’ve written a lot about this, but I truly cannot believe that made it. It was one of the hardest years in my life. I thought that I was going to break, but I didn’t. I didn’t. I didn’t break. Instead I thrived.

All of last year is a blur. As hard as everything was, it doesn’t matter right now. It’s like it never happened in one way. In another, it’s like it had to happen for me to start on the path that I am on. Of course I questioned why I had to travel this hard path. But, it’s not for me to wonder why. I’ll just go along with the flow like I always do and continue being me.

You know what, even though the cards were stacked against me, God brought me through it all, and those cards turned into a beautiful building. Much like the what I’m “building” in my life and my classroom.

Well, I have to go. I’m off to fix up my classroom. As always, here’s to continued success this year and the years to come.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers