It Had To Be The Fiddle Faddle!!!

fiddle-faddle-butter-toffee-8-ozYeah, strange title I know, but there’s actually a story behind it. Last week I went to training. I’d missed the training at my school, so I went to training at another school with my Math coach. I was late, but hungry, so I whipped out my Fiddle Faddle and proceeded to snack. I’d intended to put it away before I walked into the room, but didn’t. Anyway, as I walked into the room, someone shouted, “Hey, she has Fiddle Faddle!”
“Want some?” I asked.
“Sure,” said a couple of people as they took me up on the offer of delicious Fiddle Faddle!
I felt so welcome. Thank God for Fiddle Faddle!

I Nailed It Once Again!

hammerandnailSomeone told me they thought that I should look into being a college professor. I said that I didn’t think that I could manage adults.
“Oh, pish,” she said, “it’s just like managing children.”
I questioned whether she was right or not. Well, as it turns out, she was right. Managing rude, unruly adults is exactly like managing rude, unruly children. I found that out last night as I completed my last presentation of the year.
Last week’s presentation was for my 2nd class. This week’s presentation was for my 1st class. I was confident I was going to do well on the presentation since I pretty much mastered it at APU. However, there was one factor I felt was out of my control- the human factor.
Let me begin by saying that my classmates are notorious for being extremely rude. They never stop talking, even when asked. The professor always has to ask more than once. Sometimes twice, sometimes three times. While the professor is lecturing, they are talking, sometimes louder than the professor. They are also on their laptops e-mailing, looking at pictures and instant messaging. One professor actually had to confiscate two laptops because the culprits were IMing and laughing so loudly during class. Really??? This is grad school, not pre-school.
Well, going into the presentation, I knew that that was what I had to contend with. But I had a plan. I was going to manage them just like I manage my students. I was going to do the clap (Dun, dun, dun,dun, dun) to get their attention. I also planned to raise my voice if necessary.
Do you think it worked? Yep, it sure did.
As I said I managed them just like I managed my students. I started counting down at 2 minutes, 1 minutes, 30 seconds, and finally counted down 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 in a very loud voice. Once I established that I was not going to let them run the show, we did not have a problem. That is when I grabbed the hammer and commenced to nailing my presentation!
I love it when a plan comes together!

If Only…

One of my students keeps promising that he’s going to change schools. Promises, promises!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers