Frustrated Me!

I am so frustrated as you should be able to tell by my last couple posts. I feel like I am fighting a losing battle. I have so many grade levels in my room. I just got a new student today. I am so overwhelmed. Now, not only do I have to do my best to reach the goals of my other students who are on so many different levels, but now I have one more added to the equation.

I really feel like crying. If I felt like it would do any good, I’d do it. How,oh how, am I supposed to do this? I realized that I was on my way to being able to reach my 4th graders goals when it suddenly dawned on me that I am not really meeting the needs of the lone 2nd grader, and the two 3rd graders.

I’m not dismayed though because I’m starting to notice a pattern in my life. Whenever I feel like this, I know what happens next; I usually have a growth spurt of the mind- so to speak. Every single time this happens, immediately afterwards I realize I’ve grown. This actually relates to my post called The Quickening where I spoke about information coming at me left and right. Well, this is kinda’ the same thing. I feel overwhelmed right now, but I know that I am going to come out on the winning side of this. I will be a much better teacher for it.

So, I guess I’ve gotten my answer that I’ve been seeking. So, until next time people!

A Rose By Any Other Name!

I am so smart. Guess how smart I am? Well, guess. I am so smart that I got a new student today, who I’ll call Ann. Now, I knew that her name was Ann; I saw it on her entrance slip. However, one of my other students said that her name was the same as one of my other students’ name, who I call Pink Socks. So, I’m calling the new girl Pink Socks the whole day until my assistant sees her real name on her paper.

rose“Your name isn’t Pink Socks?,” my assistant asked.

“No,” she answered.

At this point, I burst out laughing. I could not believe that I called this girl Pink Socks when her name is Ann for about an hour and a half.

I apologized profusely and told her that it wouldn’t happen again, but that if it did, to correct me.

Yep, that’s how smart I am.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers