When Parents Attack…

Parents attacking is a sad fact of life at my work site. The mindset is one of “Do now, think later (maybe not ever).” I had a situation yesterday where one of my students, Nu, who has a history of lying, went home and told his mother some sort of lie. His mother then started calling my cellphone leaving crazy messages. Not only that but she sent a couple of her people to the campus to jump me. Thank goodness I left early or who knows what would have happened. Who knows? I could be laying in some hospital, or the morgue!
I am so stressed out I don’t know what to do. I don’t want to leave my students, but I have to think about my safety. This is such a sad day when I have to consider leaving because I fear for my life at a school.
Luckily my university is behind me and trying to help me with the situation. If not, I don’t know what. Although most cases won’t be as severe as mine, this is why many teachers leave within the first 5 years.
I don’t know how this is going to play out. Only time will tell.

5 Responses

  1. The parents where I teach are like this as well. It is exhausting, especially when you have no support! The kids brag about how their mothers will cuss out the teachers. We have even had parents come to school to fight students!

    I would suggest documenting the inapproprioate behavior, and if you have to, get the law involved. Nobody should have to work in such hostile conditions. Plus it sends the wrong message to the students.

    I hope things get better for you.

  2. Thank you so much for your support. I have been documenting the behavior. I am so distraught from having to work in these conditions. The parents that are doing these things definitely don’t have theirs or the other children who are around when this happens, best interest at heart. They really need some anger management classes. That’s all I have to say about this matter before I get started again.

  3. I am a first year teacher, and I have so far had two parents call to complain that I am “bullying” their children, when both kids are disruptive, rude, and unmanageable in my classroom. The parents claim I don’t know how to do my job. It has seriously caused me to consider whether or not I should just quit. The principal has backed me up on both occassions, but I’m honestly more affected by the fact that the parents want to use me as scapegoat for their childrens’ misbehavior.

  4. Grace, please don’t quit. At least the principal is behind you. That is a big deal. Let’s keep in contact. You just need someone to talk to who understands.

  5. I’ve talked to several of my colleagues, and they all say that it is normal to have parents call to complain, and to just let it roll of my back and not take it personal. But it’s kind of hard when the attacks are so personal. I don’t want my principal thinking I can’t do my job right. The only thing that is keeping me going at this point (besides the fact that I know this where I need to be) is the fact that next year I will have new students. And that next year I will do things differently and that I will have a handle on it more. Thank you for the reply! :) It means a lot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

