Auditory & Visual Processing Disorders or Why It’s So Hard To Teach Students With This Disorder

As my husband & I were driving, I talked with my husband about how many people think that teaching is such a cushy job. They have no idea how intense it is or how much planning goes into teaching one lesson. A lesson that might take one day in a general education class may very well take up to a week or more in a special education class; especially if they have no to little foundation. You have to cover all the basics. You can’t take anything for granted. You can’t even think that the students know what a plus or minus sign are. My husband told me that he thought that it was simple. That you just do A, B, & C. I had to tell him that that would probably work in a general education class, but not in a special education class.

“Why wouldn’t it work in a special education class?” he asked.

“Okay, the method you just described wouldn’t work with someone with a visual processing disorder.” I told him.

“What is a visual processing disorder?” he asked

Okay, a visual processing disorder is basically when the student needs to do more than see what you’re trying to explain. They have a hard time processing information by sight alone. They may need to see it, hear it and touch it also. Therein lies the problem. When I first started I didn’t know what visual or auditory processing disorders were. My husband & I continued the conversation during which I explained visual processing disorder, auditory processing disorder, and the many teaching methods and techniques used to reach special education students. Thankfully my husband understood by the end of the conversation. Now, all I need to do is make head way with some of the general education teachers I’ve worked with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

