Ghosts Of Hair & Clothes Issues Past!

i like myselfI wish I felt like this when I was younger, but I didn’t. This book and all it represents reminds me of a situation I’m dealing with right now. I have been very upset lately with someone that I am very close to. It has to do with a young female relative. You see, this person is so extra, super-dee-duper, ridiculously cheap. She doesn’t buy her little girl any pretty clothes. Nor does she fix her hair nicely. It’s doubly bad because this person is a hairdresser. Needless to say, this little girl is very insecure. She told me that Phillise is so much smarter, prettier and has better clothes than her.

I really felt like crying when she told me this. I had to tell her that she is pretty and that she had nice clothes too. To which she replied, “My clothes are dark and ugly. They’re like boy clothes.”

“Phillise’s are much prettier. They’re girl colors,” she said.

I felt like crying again. How can I help her? She has no confidence. Her hair, at times, is like whateeever. He clothes are too small and sometimes very outdated. What do I do? I bought her a couple of things when she went shopping with me & Phillise, but I don’t have the funds to do that all the time. I want her to have confidence. How do I approach her mother about treating her better?

Right about now, you may be asking, what does this bother me? What does this have to do with me? Well, I grew up really poor. There were always so many of us, with not enough money to go around. Put it this way, we always had more month at the end of our money. I was always so jealous of the girls at school who had pretty clothes and hair. Don’t even talk about Hello, Kitty! stuff. One of my classmates had a lot. I would look enviously at her cute little trinkets and wish I had them. That’s why I made a vow to myself that when I had a daughter, I would buy her nice clothes, shoes, and cute little trinkets. Did I keep my part of the bargain? Yes, I sure did. I don’t go overboard and overspend, but I do keep my little girl looking as cute as can be. I know how to bargain hunt. I can buy her a whole outfit (top & bottom) for less than $20. So, can my relative’s mother. That’s why I am so mad about this particular situation. It reminds me too much of my situation when I was younger. My mother didn’t have the money. That didn’t make me any less furious, but at least there was a reason. This person has no reason. She’s such a cheapskate and her little girl is suffering. I’m not saying she should spend an insane amount of money on this child’s clothing, but she needs to try.

I really need to work through this. I don’t have a choice. I do not need to put my own feelings in this but, it’s such a tender spot, I can’t help it. I will work my way through this, dear readers. I’ll come out on top. I always do.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

