“Out, Out, Damn Laptop!

“Out, Out, Damn Laptop!” has been echoing in my ears Dear Readers. As I write this I am reminded of my high school Shakespeare class. I have been feeling so guilty about spending so much time on my laptop that I’ve been dreaming about it. Is it my guilty conscience? Yep, it sure it. But, alas! I have learned my lesson. Really I have!

“What lesson is that,” you ask. Well, this all goes back to my MAC being broken last week. I was so distraught, but I tried to think of a silver lining. You see, whenever something happens, I try to think of a silver lining. I embarrassed to say that his doesn’t always happen in the beginning, but I do eventually get around to it. But, anyway, back to the lecture at hand. My power cord broke last week. I was so distraught over this because at the time I didn’t know it was the power cord, I thought it was the laptop itself. You see, Dear Readers, a new power cord is about $110, but if it was something else, it would have been totally out of my price range since the warranty expired in September.

But, as I thought about the silver lining (much, much later after I had a good cry) to the MAC being broken, I realized that I spend far too much time on my laptop and not enough with my children. So, I made a resolution to spend less time with my MAC (which was dead for all of last week until I got another power cord) and more with my family. But, do you think I made good on that resolution once I got the power cord this weekend? Nope, sure didn’t! I spent so much time on my MAC this weekend until I realized what I was doing. My little niece Moriah was over & she wanted me to pay attention to her, but I kept pecking away. Phillise wanted me to look at some things, but I only half-heartedly looked as I pecked away.

“Tsk, tsk, tsk, ” I said to myself. I wanted to spank myself & put me in the corner. But, no more I say. No more. I am not going to bring any work home this week. I am far enough ahead in my lesson plans (Not science) that I don’t need to bring any work home. Anything I need to do will be done at school during my planning time or after school. Time at home will be reserved for my family.

So, I say again, “Out, out, damn laptop. Out of my lap!”

HERE’S TO 2011!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

