Today Was Like Magic!

Today, Dr. Seuss’ birthday, is like magic. There is so much going on at my school today. First, my Principal dressed up like the Cat in the Hat. Secondly, the Pre-k through 1st grade had green eggs and ham. Thirdly, we had readers from the community come in and read Dr. Seuss to the whole school. Lastly, for their journal writing assignment today, I had them pick a line or page from the favorite Dr. Seuss book and either re-write the ending or write 3-4 extra rhyming stanzas to go with it. Once they finished writing, they illustrated then bound the book. They are in front of my classroom along with the “real” Dr. Seuss books. They look very nice.

I could feel how excited the students were. I remember how excited I used to get while reading Dr. Seuss books when I was little.  Reading the books to my students evoke a feeling of magic. It’s like reading Charlie & the Chocolate Factory, The Lion, the Witch, & the Wardrobe all rolled into one. They’re magical; the best thing ever!

You can see the cornstarch, measuring cup, and food colors (along with my cute little brown hand) in the background. It got a little messy, but everyone had fun. I will make some time tomorrow (since we ran out today) because the students want to make some on their own.

I’m not sure if I had more fun today or my students. How was your day today?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

