Dictionaries & So Much More!

After attending the training, I have been so inspired. The trainer, Dr. Heidi Hayes Jacob, challenged all in attendance to prepare their students for the year 2031 by becoming more computer savvy and introduce our students to an online source to replace a traditional source. I accepted her challenge by introducing my students to the Visual Thesaurus to complete their work for their Reading packet which I recently redesigned. I changed their weekly packets from Reading Response Journals to Vocabulary  & Spelling Journals.  Just as when I first introduced the Reading Response Journals, the students were having a hard time adjusting to the new packet. Here’s the schedule for the packet:

  • Day 1- Define vocabulary words & their language or origin (Homework)
  • Day 2- Write a sentence with the vocabulary words (Homework)
  • Day 3- Define spelling words & their language of origin for classwork; Homework- Write a sentence with the spelling words
  • Day 4- Write a synonym for your spelling words for classwork
  • Day 5- Write an antonym for your spelling words (Homework)

Looking in the traditional dictionary was too much for them. That’s why I introduced them to the Visual Thesaurus. Tuesday in the computer lab, I will introduce them to Longman’s Dictionary (We have one in the classroom). I’ve accepted Dr. Jacobs’ challenge and  researched resources that will aid me in my quest to do that. With the limited amount of time to do so, but here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

Dictionay links:

http://www.phon.ucl.ac.uk/home/wells/lpd3.htm (Longman’s Dictionary)

http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term= (online Etymology dictionary)

http://www.alphadictionary.com/index.shtml (Alpha dictionary)

http://www.visualthesaurus.com (Visual Thesaurus)

NOTE: All of these resources are free, except for Visual Thesaurus. It cost $19.95/year, but it is well worth it. My students love it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

