Tips on Dealing with Moms From Hell (MFH)

I’ve only had to deal with one Mom From Hell (MFH) before this. However, she had an excuse, she was mentally ill. This MFH that I’m dealing with now is simply the pushy, controlling, bulldozing, troublemaking type of MFH. No one loves their child as much as she loves her child; or so she thinks.

The last MFH, that I dealt with, became a MFH gradually. This one started out that way. She did not pass Go! She did not collect $200. She just went straight to MFH. I had one day of her and was already tired of her.

I’d seen her all last year, so I knew how she was. She used to try to “check up” on her daughter’s teacher last year. That’s why when I saw her on the first day of school, I totally ignored her. But, I digress. Let’s get to real reason for this post. In order to help you, if you’re dealing with a similar situation.

If you are dealing with a MFH or Parent from Hell (PFH), here are some tips to help you get through it.

  1. Nip problems in the bud. When you first notice a problem, address the problem from the beginning. Do NOT let it escalate.
  2. Get everything in writing. MFH like to twist every single word you say. If it’s in writing, it’s a lot harder for her to twist your words and stab you in the back.
  3. Stay calm! Don’t buy into their anger. It only validates their anger if you get angry. (I’m talking to myself right here.)
  4. Schedule all meetings. Never let them catch you in the hallways. This is their favorite.
  5. When scheduling a meeting, insist on knowing what the problem is, so that you can possibly prepare it.
  6. If at all possible, have someone (preferably an administrator) present at the meetings.
One Response

  1. Hey this is great! I’m going to school to be a teacher right now and I have to say, dealing with parents is one of my biggest fears XD

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

