Posted in teaching

Home sick today!


Yesterday I had a crazy idea in my head to play hooky from work. In my head, this was how it played out: I was going to go drop my children off at school, go to breakfast, and/or lunch with my husband, then come home and take a nap. Did things work out like that? What do you think? Of course they didn’t. First of all, I realized, as I was teaching yesterday, that I really wasn’t feeling well, and that my planned hooky day wasn’t going to go as well as I planned. So, thinking ahead, I wrote out a lesson plan and left it on my desk.

This is the way the day actually went: I came home and laid on the couch. Why? I had to lie on the couch because my back was hurting. I ended up falling asleep on the couch without eating dinner. I woke up at 6:00 and b.s.’d around on the computer until 6:40-time to wake David & Phillise up. I then drove them to school. It was at this point that I realized I was dizzy and had a bit of a headache. That’s when I realize that I’m getting an ear infection. Really?

So, that’s the story of my day home sick. I was really home sick! Being sick on my planned hooky day sucked, but at least I got some rest!

Author:

I am a 53 year old empty nester, mother of four adult children, ages 22-34, and grandmother to two (River & Dakota) who's currently... figuring me out!

Leave a comment