Getting Ready To Get Ready

Teaching is like having a baby. You can try your best to do what you can to get ready for it. But, unfortunately, there is no way that you can prepare yourself for a total life change like that. You can try to get as much sleep as you can before the baby comes. You can try to brush up on your skills (especially if you’re a little rusty). But when it comes down to it, there is nothing that can prepare you for the sleepless , one-eyed, two o’clock-in the morning feedings and sleep deprivation. I have a sneaking feeling that that is how teaching is going to be.

Oh, I know that there will be sleep deprivation. Probably a lot. But the frantic last minute grading of the report cards or the 4 hour I.E.P. meetings replaces the diaper changing and one-eyed, two o’clock-in-the morning feedings

I’m trying to do what I can. Ya know, simple stuff, like buying stickers, making reward charts, designing my introduction letter to the parents and most importantly, doing some research. However, I just have this gnawing feeling in the pit of my stomach that there is nothing I can do to fully prepare.

There will be so much on the job training. I know that I can count on the kids to let me know. They are very honest. Trust me, they’ll let me know.

Even though I’m scared, I’m looking forward to it because there is no more getting ready to get ready. In September, it will be the real deal; and I had damn well better be ready.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers