Don’t Fail To Plan!

There’s this saying that if you fail to plan, then you plan to fail. Truer words have never been spoken. That’s what this post is about- making a conscious decision to be a better me. Planning to be a better me.

My problem is that in the summer, I don’t have a set time to be anywhere. I am on my own schedule. That can be a dangerous thing for me since I have to have structure. I’ve only been out of work for two weeks now, but already I can feel the depression coming over me like it does every summer.

Me. I have to have a plan for the day/week/month/year or else, like most people, I get sidetracked so fast it’ll make your head spin. I have resolved to stave off this depression by keeping busy doing productive stuff for the summer. This morning I discovered an opportunity to be a volunteer for an adult literacy program. Incidentally, I discovered that I really wanted to be a teacher 10 years ago when I was a tutor for the World Literacy Crusade. Funny how things come full circle.

We never know how this life is going to turn out, but we can try to help it along. We can start each day anew with a great plan or we can do like I used to do every summer and just waste it away without a plan.

What’s your plan for this summer? Something productive I hope!

People Watching!

This is a term that my husband introduced me to. I used to do it with my sisters, but we didn’t put a name to it. Sometimes we would be so tired from shopping that we would just sit somewhere in the mall or wherever we happened to be and just watch people go by.

Just in case you didn’t know, people watching is just as the name implies. Okay, it’s basically spying. You sit around and just watch people. For however long you want to.

The best time to go is when it’s really crowded, like Black Friday (the Friday after Thanksgiving) and during the rest of the Christmas shopping rush.

Well, my husband and I have our monthly dates. We usually do dinner, but this time we did a lunch date. We went to Universal City Walk. It’s a veritable smorgasbord of people. There are so many people. We like to look for the “How’d that happen?” type couples. Some couples you just wouldn’t expect to know each other, let alone be together. We’ve seen a lot over the years during our people watching time. Sometimes the opportunity just presents itself. Other times, you’ve got to make it work. At any rate, it’s fun.

You should try it some time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers