The Tortoise & The Hare

Slow and steady wins the race!

tortoisehare_titles-707630.jpg

photo credit

When I first started going to the gym, I felt alone and more than a little intimidated by the women who were already in shape and who seemed to know just what exercises to do. I felt so awkward because I didn’t know how to use the machines while they seemed to be experts. I was trying to figure out how to use the elliptical and feeling rather silly that I didn’t know how when the woman next to me politely leaned over and told me how to get it started.

After that, I didn’t feel so silly anymore. I also didn’t feel so alone either. I slowly started feeling more comfortable, but there was still the feeling of being too slow and behind. Everyone seemed to be going faster and longer than me on the machine. Some women would come in and just ramp it up. I would look at them in awe until I noticed something; they could only do about 5-10 minutes at that fast pace, while I could do 15-20 minutes at my slow and steady pace. It reminded me of the tortoise and the hare.

Just then it reminded that everything has a beginning. Maybe the women who look fabulous now didn’t look so fabulous when they were beginning. Maybe they even felt awkward like me. Maybe everyone didn’t feel as awkward as I did, but they felt something. It’s not always easy to go into someplace new; especially a gym. If you’re outta’ shape, it feels like everyone looking at you. If you’re in great shape, it feels like everyone is envious. (Women can be like that sometime.)

I know that my weight is not going to come off overnight, because it didn’t get there overnight. As far as me and my exercise regimen are concerned, I will stick to slow and steady, because it is a tried and true method. Slow and steady does indeed win the race.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

