Where Would I Be Right Now?


In an older post, I talked about blowing my chance at a free education when I was younger. I’ve been mad at myself for the longest time that I had a free ride and I blew it. So it’s only natural that sometimes I ask myself where I would be right now if I hadn’t blown my chance. I don’t know what the answer is. That’s something I’ll never know because I didn’t choose that path where I didn’t have kids at a young age. It gives me comfort to think that I chose the right one for better or for worse…real-fork-in-road.jpg
The point in my life when I had to make the important decisions is called a strategic inflection point- a fork in the road. (Yeah, yeah. I know, I know. The picture is extra cheesy). You can either choose point A or you can choose point B.

Point A could take you to higher heights and deeper depths and land you where you want to be; while point B could take you to the slums of…

The one that seems like the right one could be the wrong one, while the one that seems like the wrong one could be the right one. You can ask yourself  which one should I take?

I wonder all the time if I took the right one. I don’t know. After all this time, I still can’t answer that. Your path depends on which one resonates with your heart. When I decided to have my first son @ the age of 19, I knew that I was taking the harder road. When I had my second one three days before my 21st birthday, I knew that it would be even harder; but that is the one that I took.

Did any of that stop me? Nope, it sure didn’t. I got sidetracked for a couple of years, but I always knew that somehow I would do it. Now, four children and 18 years later, my life has turned out better than I expected it to. My husband and I were still able to buy a house @ 29 years old with no help from anyone. My children are well adjusted individuals with good heads on their shoulders. My oldest son is on his way to University, while my others are in 11th, 5th and kindergarten.

I’d say that that’s not bad for someone who everyone counted out because I had two children @ 21. I never stopped believing. I believe that is what made the difference in me being successful.

So, it doesn’t matter where I would have been. What matters is where I am now. I am very pleased with where I am now. I hope you are also. If not, ask yourself: Are you happy with yourself where you are right now? Why not? What can you do to make it better?

Start right now to make a change because it only takes one step. Remember- the journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.

4 thoughts on “Where Would I Be Right Now?

  1. writingismyworld says:

    I am write now standing up, applauding, and doing my best to make my old you-know-what do a back-flip of joy for you. You know I knew you then when you had your babies and not once did I ever doubt your ultimate success. You are one of the strongest and intelligent women that I know and you and your hubby are TRULY soulmates. Your children are so blessed to have the two of you for examples as parents. Your words are a definate inspiration to someone like me who as often wondered “what if”??? You are right, what matters is the here and now and where you are is in a place of devine privilage.

    YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =)

  2. Thank you so much. You have always been supportive. You are one of the few that never doubted me. You had faith in me when I had none in myself. Everyone needs someone who can have a 10 minute laugh at stickfish or whatever we choose to laugh ourselves silly about.

  3. writingismyworld says:

    And talk about silly..I just saw that I said “write” now as opposed to “right” now!! Could this possibly be why my book has yet to be published????? hahahaa!!!!! LOL!!!

  4. No, no, no. The story is you meant to write it that way. For writers, that’s the new “write” way. That’s your story. Now stick to it.

Leave a Reply

