Keep Your Shoes On Please!

I decided to return to being an assistant while waiting for the teaching job to come through and boy am I glad that I did. Being at work today renewed my strength. It made me remember my commitment to be the best that I can.

The only thing that I don’t like about the assignment is that it’s a 1-on-1 assignment, which basically means that I am mainly responsible for that child. Usually, the children who have a 1-on-1 has the extra help because the child either needs extra help toileting, he/she interrupts the class environment with inappropriate behavior and/or is a danger to themselves or others.

The child that I’m with, Danny, who’s adorable by the way, isn’t a danger to himself or others, he just disrupts the class. He likes to throw his shoes and other objects and he won’t stay put.

I can remember dealing with this situation before with a child who liked to take his shoes off. I would try to put them back on, only to be met with kicks, slaps, etc. After I tired of that, I assessed the situation. I thought about how I would handle it if one of my own children were exhibiting this behavior. So the next day when I went to work, I had a plan for him. When he took his shoes off, I kept them. About five minutes later, he wanted them back. I didn’t give to him. Why? I didn’t give them to him to make him want them. Whenever he would try to take them back, I would tell him that he could have them back when he kept them on.

“Are you going to keep them on,” I asked.

Once he tired of being without his shoes, he said yes. Did he take them off again? Yes, he did. I would have loved for it to have worked right away, but it didn’t. It took a couple of days, but he finally did keep them on.

I’ll have to wait until Monday to find out if it worked with my Danny. I did manage to keep him in his seat. He didn’t interrupt the classroom as much either. Too bad the other students did. The teacher was so frazzled. She asked for my input. I told her that I would work on it and get back to her on Monday. It’s a good thing that I just finished my Behavior Management Plan (B.M.P.) off of the I.R.I.S. website. I will give more information about I.R.I.S. tomorrow; what it stands for, how it can be used, etc. It is one of the resources that I received in my bootcamp @ B.N.U.

So, until tomorrow, keep your shoes on!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

