My 2nd First Day of School! (Part 2)

Well, I’m back from my very first day of teaching. It was a good day. If you were in the class, you might not have thought so. I have 13 students altogether, but 2 are mainstreamed in the general education classes. One is only there for half a day. He’s pretty rambunctious but he’s a good kid. He likes to protect me. When the three regular misbehavers were misbehaving (Well, they were actually fighting) and I was moving towards them to tell them to stop, he got up and tried to hold me back so the kids wouldn’t accidentally hit me. I thought it was so sweet. Of course he did his little misbehaving later in the day, but he was still respectful about it, if that makes any sense.

So, today there were 3 fights, but no one was seriously hurt. It was basically a lot of yelling and a little bit of pushing: a lot of bluffing basically.

The problem was that I moved the classroom. It wasn’t such a good idea, but I had to get the classroom ready for myself. I apologized to them because of the change. I know that most people don’t like change. Least of all autistic children. However, I explained to them that I needed to have the class like this so that could interact with them better. I brought them in closer to make the group feel more cohesive. I explained to them that we were going to become a family. I want to instill a sense of pride in them because with Special Education, there is such a sense of shame.

I talked pretty plainly to them. I let them know that I was going to be there for them, but that I wasn’t going to make them learn anything. I told them that they had to want it. Tomorrow we will go over R-E-S-P-E-C-T. Many of them don’t seem to know a whole lot about that subject.

Today I talked to them about Howard Gardner’s theory of Multiple Intelligences (more later). I told them what they were and let them give me examples. After that I asked them how they felt more comfortable learning. I then told them why I was teaching them about Multiple Intelligences. It made them think. THAT WAS MY WHOLE POINT!

Tomorrow we will review what we learned today, define and give examples of R-E-S-P-E-C-T, introduce and revisit TouchMath and choose classsroom monitors.

After everything was said and done, I had a 2 1/2 hour staff development meeting. The day was a little long, but what I expected. All in all, not a bad day!

My 2nd First Day of School!

Today is the day. My first day of teaching. I have so much planned. I don’t know how it’s going to go. I am a little nervous, but ready. I have been building up to this day for a while, so let’s just get it over with dammit! Wish me luck!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers