What does K-W-L mean?


I learned about this chart while in teacher training. I thought it was so great. With it we were able to track our progress throughout the training.

Once I learned what it was and how to use it, I thought to myself, that it would make a great tool for my classroom. Up til now, I hadn’t had a chance to use it. Now that I am doing the Money unit in Open Court, I think this is the perfect time.

This is how it goes. The chart is divided into three categories- K-W-L. You can either use post-its or if using a bulletin board, you can use index cards and push pins.

You ask students what they currently know (K); what (W) they want to know; and after everything is said and done, you will ask them what they have learned (L).

Even though I already told you what this is, here is the summation in a nutshell:

The K stands for what you already know.

The W stands for what you want to know.

The L stands for what you’ve learned.

If you’re from Missouri and you just have to see it for yourself, here is the link: click here.

3 thoughts on “What does K-W-L mean?

  1. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in trading links or
    maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as
    yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by
    the way!

Leave a Reply

