More On My Plate!

Look what we have for you. Another student, and he’s in 2nd grade. From now on, you’re going to have 2nd grade as well.
Well, according to my APEIS (Assistant Principal in charge of Special Ed), my class is no longer called Upper Elementary Special Day Class (SDC). It’s now called a span class. I found this out when I got a new student on Wednesday, who’s in 2nd grade. So, not only do I have 3rd, 4th, & 5th, but I have 2nd as well.

My students are 7-12 years old. I feel like this is way too much on my plate. If all of my students were in the class, I would have 15 students. This may not seem like a lot, but consider that I have 2 who are non-verbal and Mentally Retarded (MR), one Other Health Impairment (OHI), among other things, to Specific Learning Disability (SLD).

One thing I need to gripe about the term SLD. There is nothing specific about it. You have to try to figure out what’s wrong with them and try to reach them.

You know what, even though I may seem to be complaining, that isn’t the case. I’m not complaining about my job or the children this time. I’m complaining about the powers that be, who think it’s okay to have children who are five years apart and in very different developmental stages, in the same class.

As always, I am doing the damn thing, but at what cost? Since I am a parent and have dealt with bullying in my own home, I knew that I didn’t want that in my house. So, I have made my classroom a safe haven where no one is allowed to laugh at anyone or make fun of anyone else. However, what if the teacher is not a parent or doesn’t think to do that? What if the smaller children were picked on by the bigger children?

There are just so many chances for things to go wrong, it’s ridiculous. I am a little mad about this, but what can I do?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers