Underwear by Mary Elise Monsell

Underwear (1988), written by Elise Monsell and illustrated by Lynn Munsinger is a charming little book. I bought it a couple of years ago for David. He enjoyed it, but Phillise loved it. She thought it was so funny.

The title character in the book is Zachary Zebra who did not like buttons or snaps or zippers. But he did like underwear. All kinds of underwear in all colors and prints and styles.

His best friend, Orfo the Orangutan, who also loves underwear, is coming for a visit. Together, they go to the World’s Greatest Grassland Underwear Fair and purchase as much underwear as they want.

Phillise especially loved the part where they buy all types of underwear- orange spotted underwear, underwear with palm trees and bananas, zebra striped underwear, leopard spotted underwear, and underwear with fish and monkeys….

They have lots and lots of fun, until they run into the unhappy buffalo, Bismark the Buffalo who absolutely refuses to like underwear.

Although this book doesn’t teach academic skills, it does teach social skills, like how to get along with others, how to have a good attitude, or even how to be a friend.

Follow Zachary & Orfo’s adventure as they try to get Bismark to like underwear. Will they succeed?

Pick it up for yourself if you’d like to find out.

The Hungry Thing by Jan Slepian & Ann Seidler

I am so happy that I found this book, The Hungry Thing (1967), written by Jan Slepian & Ann Seidler, with pictures by Richard E. Martin. It is very hard to find. I found it on one site for $87.00. The cheapest that I found it for was $27.00 on Ebay. I knew that I would find it if I waited and bided my time.

Well, I did find it; and for the price that I wanted. I found it on Alibris for $7.99 + $3.99 shipping & handling. I wanted it because I read its’ companinon book- The Hungry Thing Returns- and had to see what the prequel was like.

N-e way, on to the review. This book is about a thing- a hungry thing. He suddenly appears in town with a sign that says “Feed Me”. All the adults try to figure out what the Thing wants when he asks for shmancakes… and tickles… and hookies… and gollipops.

A young boy provides the voice of reason and figures it out.

Children are invited to figure out what the Hungry Thing is asking for. This book makes a great read aloud. It’s also great for teaching and/or reinforcing rhyming.

Here’s an example:

“He’s underfed. Have some bread,” said a lady dressed in red.

“It seems to me he’d like some tea,” said a fellow up a tree.

“A bit of rice might be nice,” said a baby, sucking ice.

The townspeople band together and feed it until it’s satisfied. Finally, it turns its sign around which says, in big letters, “THANK YOU!”

There are two sequels- The Hungry Thing Returns & The Hungry Thing Goes to a Restaurant. I have The Hungry Thing Returns, but need to find it in the mountain of books in Phillise’s room. I guess I’ll have to find The Hungry Thing Goes To A Restaurant @ the LAPL. Once I do, I’ll post a review.

Until next time people!

*** This book is great for rhyming.***

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers