The Right (Multipurpose) Tool For The Job!


I am a big fan of the Food Network. I just love Alton Brown. You know why? It’s because he always uses the right tool for the job. Another thing about him that makes him a man after my own heart is that he doesn’t  use specialized single use tool. He knows that there is always more than one way to skin a cat.

He’s always thinking ahead. Whenever a job calls for him to use a single use, specialized tool, he doesn’t do it. He uses his head. Instead, he gets a multipurpose tool; one that can be used for that specialized purpose and then some.

That’s the way it should be. Having a single use tool is not the way to go. That’s how it is with teaching- with my position. Teaching is not a single use tool position. I was the right tool for the job because I AM a multipurpose tool. I not only teach the students academic skills, social skills, and etiquette skills, I also give them lots of hugs and love.

During the year, I was beating myself up because I thought that I was just hired because I was the only person up for my position and no one else wanted it. To tell you the truth, I didn’t think that anyone else interviewed for the position. I thought that I just got the position just because! I didn’t give myself any credit.

Now, I know that maybe, just maybe, I got the job because I was the right one for the job!

One thing that changed my mind and made me know for sure that I was the “right tool for the job” was when I met a person, who was up for my job, at training a couple of weeks ago. I talked to her a little and got to know her. I thought about it concluded that she was absolutely not the right person for the job. I simply could not picture her in my place. She was not the right fit.

Believe me when I say, with all humility and no conceit, that I was then and still am the right person for the job. I am a good fit with the children in my class. Even though it’s been one of the hardest things in my life extremely hard, I really couldn’t imagine being anywhere else or with any other set of students.

Thank goodness I am the right (multipurpose) tool for the job and that I’ve found the right fit for me.

Leave a Reply

