Tuesday’s Puppet Show

Tuesday was pretty nice. We went to the puppet show @ the local library, we checked out books, came home and did our Guys Read book club thing.

I was pleasantly pleased with one of my members. She went to the restroom and came back with an armload full of books. She presented me with a book that was actually a very good find. It’s called How To Get Your Child to Love Reading by Esme Raji Codell.

It is an excellent book. I was thinking about writing about like this, but my book would not have been anywhere near as thorough as this one. Esme, the author, really knows her stuff. I would definitely call her an expert. Her knowledge on children’s book is astounding.

We had a good time. When I figure out how to put the pix on here, I will do so.

Bye for now!

Fast Friends- A Tail and Tongue Tail by Lisa Horstman

This book, Fast Friends- A Tail and Tongue Tale- by Lisa Horstman (1994) is a Dr. Seuss Picture Book Award winner. Now, let me tell you the story of when I first bought it. There was a little bit of confusion on my part as to whether or not it was a Dr. Seuss book.

I bought this book some time ago; probably about 10 years ago. When I first bought it, I thought that it was a Dr. Seuss book. I thought hmm… it doesn’t quite look like a Dr. Seuss book, but I saw Dr. Seuss, so I bought it anyway. Once I opened it and found out that it didn’t rhyme like a Dr. Seuss book, that’s when I took another look inside the book and saw that it was not a Dr. Seuss book but a Dr. Seuss Picture Book Award Winner; the first one ever given.

In 1994, Lisa Horstman, a new author, was talented enough to win a contest and have her book published. What a thrill it must have been to beat out all the thousands of entrants, and win $10,000 to boot.

I like researching a finding out all about an author. Even before I started doing book reviews, I was always curious about the author of any book I liked. I wanted to know their thought process as they wrote it, or how long it took to write it. Now, (duh, duh, da, dum), on to the review.

Of course, I liked the book. It’s a very nice book with a simple message- accept people for who they are; even if they’re different.

The book begins by asking if you have a friend who’s completely different from you. If you do, then this is the story for you. We are then introduced to a cow named Blueberry Sprig who’s leaving his small farm to make his way in the world. As he’s going on his merry little way, a fly lands on his back.

“THWAkK,” goes his tail as he expertly flick it off.

“SLURP,” goes Smithfield, the dapper chameleon’s tongue as he catches the bug and gobbles it up. He just happens to be on his way to become a chef for the richest woman in town.

Blueberry tells him that he wants to be a cow-about-town. So, begins their travels as they set about realizing their dreams. They become fast friends. However, as with everything, all good things must come to an end. As it turns out, Blueberry is a bit of slob, while Smithfield is a neat freak.

Blueberry tries to be tidy, but alas, old habits are hard to break, and Smithfield who can’t take anymore, packs his bags and moves in with an old friend. Will things be better where he’s at? Will he miss Blueberry? Will they still be friends?

I guess you’re just going to have to read the book to find out what happens!!!

I also found an interview with the author. If you would like to read it, click here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers