Women Of Strength

Women of Strength

A strong woman works out every day to keep her body in shape …
but a woman of strength kneels in prayer to keep her soul in shape…

A strong woman isn’t afraid of anything …
but a woman of strength shows courage in the midst of her fear…

A strong woman won’t let anyone get the best of her ….
but a woman of strength gives the best of her to everyone…

A strong woman makes mistakes and avoids the same in the future…
a woman of strength realizes life’s mistakes can also be God’s blessings
and capitalizes on them…

A strong woman walks sure footedly …
but a woman of strength knows God will catch her when she falls…

A strong woman wears the look of confidence on her face …
but a woman of strength wears grace…

A strong woman has faith that she is strong enough for the journey …
but a woman of strength has faith that it is in the journey that she
will become strong…


** If I knew who wrote this I would definitely give them credit because this is beautiful.

Fostering An Early Love Of Reading & Writing, Part 2!

In a post from a couple of months ago, I wrote about fostering an early love of reading and writing. I know that I have to be an example for my children. That’s why when Phillise wanted a blog to emulate her mommy, I graciously obliged and set her up with her own blog a couple of months ago.

Usually she would dictate to me what she wanted to write and I would write it. Now, my little brown lady of 6, has decided that she’s big enough to write her own posts. She has been writing little notes to me using invented spelling. It’s so cute. She even wrote her last post (I love my dad) on her blog all by herself. She left two comments for me by herself. This is what they said:

Her comment: yes i love you too now lef me ualen.ok now som pes and qeit.

The corrected version: Yes, I love you too, now leave me alone, okay. Now some peace and quiet.

Her comment: i love you mom.

She kept telling that she was doing something on the computer and that I couldn’t look. She thought this message was so funny. I am so happy that she loves to read and write. She’s a girl after her mother’s own heart.

Let me say again that I am soooooooo proud of my little 6 year old reading and writing dynamo. Did I mention that she can also draw like nobody’s business. If she doesn’t have the makings of a successful writer/illustrator, I don’t know who does!!!

A Very Full Morning by Eva Montanari

This book, picked by Phillise on our weekly library trip, turned out to be an excellent pick on her part. Since my baby is a new reader, I let her read some books to me, while I read some of the books to her. I liked the look of this book, so I read it to her. Once I read it, I thought to myself that it would be a perfect gift for a first year teacher and/or student teacher.

The book, A Very Full Morning (2006), written and illustrated by Eva Montanari, is a must have for new teachers and/or student teachers. I always say that you can find almost anything you need to find and want to say with a children’s book. If you’re looking for a book written just for teachers/student teachers, this is it.

I plan to read this to my class when I return to school. Here’s why:

Tonight Little Tooth tries to go to bed early.

Tomorrow morning she has to go to a very special place.

But as the hours pass, here eyes are still open and her head is full of thoughts.

Try as she might, Little Tooth could not sleep. Tomorrow is the first day of school, and she is sooo excited. She chooses a dress from a closet full of clothes. Finally the big day arrives. She has a nice breakfast and sets off.

She needs to slow things down. She’s a little scared. Things are happening too fast.

The first day of school seems to have come much too fast. She needs to waste time. First, she comes to a menacing, big gate full of bars. Next, she decides to walk along a path full of stones. Finally she arrives. Once there, she is greeted by a whole school yard full of bags (back packs). She nervously follows the bags into a classroom full of tables. She’s just in time, there’s only one desk left. She hurriedly climbs on the chair; all eyes are on her.  She’s afraid! The room is so full of tension!!! What do they want from her? What is she going to do???  She decides to break the tension and speak to everyone.

This is what she says: “I’m your teacher. It’s my first day of school as well.”

This book is for teachers of all ages. I liked this book because I didn’t know that Little Tooth was the teacher. I don’t usually give away the ending of a book. When someone reads my reviews, I like for them to want to go to the library or the bookstore and read it for themselves. I like to add a little bit of mystery. However, with this one, I just had to tell it. This way, the student teacher or first year teacher will know that this is the book for him or her. Go out and buy it for yourself or someone you know. They will love you for it. Ya’ never know, it may even make them feel better about that all important first day of school.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers