A Very Full Morning by Eva Montanari

This book, picked by Phillise on our weekly library trip, turned out to be an excellent pick on her part. Since my baby is a new reader, I let her read some books to me, while I read some of the books to her. I liked the look of this book, so I read it to her. Once I read it, I thought to myself that it would be a perfect gift for a first year teacher and/or student teacher.

The book, A Very Full Morning (2006), written and illustrated by Eva Montanari, is a must have for new teachers and/or student teachers. I always say that you can find almost anything you need to find and want to say with a children’s book. If you’re looking for a book written just for teachers/student teachers, this is it.

I plan to read this to my class when I return to school. Here’s why:

Tonight Little Tooth tries to go to bed early.

Tomorrow morning she has to go to a very special place.

But as the hours pass, here eyes are still open and her head is full of thoughts.

Try as she might, Little Tooth could not sleep. Tomorrow is the first day of school, and she is sooo excited. She chooses a dress from a closet full of clothes. Finally the big day arrives. She has a nice breakfast and sets off.

She needs to slow things down. She’s a little scared. Things are happening too fast.

The first day of school seems to have come much too fast. She needs to waste time. First, she comes to a menacing, big gate full of bars. Next, she decides to walk along a path full of stones. Finally she arrives. Once there, she is greeted by a whole school yard full of bags (back packs). She nervously follows the bags into a classroom full of tables. She’s just in time, there’s only one desk left. She hurriedly climbs on the chair; all eyes are on her.  She’s afraid! The room is so full of tension!!! What do they want from her? What is she going to do???  She decides to break the tension and speak to everyone.

This is what she says: “I’m your teacher. It’s my first day of school as well.”

This book is for teachers of all ages. I liked this book because I didn’t know that Little Tooth was the teacher. I don’t usually give away the ending of a book. When someone reads my reviews, I like for them to want to go to the library or the bookstore and read it for themselves. I like to add a little bit of mystery. However, with this one, I just had to tell it. This way, the student teacher or first year teacher will know that this is the book for him or her. Go out and buy it for yourself or someone you know. They will love you for it. Ya’ never know, it may even make them feel better about that all important first day of school.


6 Responses

  1. I love picture books. I use them often with my 12th graders. Thanks for the title, I hope to find it at our local library.

  2. Picture books are my passion. I absolutely adore them. I think that I will still collect them even when my daughter has outgrown them.

  3. Have you ever read “Gorillas in the Park” or “Sister Ann’s Hands” or “The Keeping Quilt?”–these are just a few off the top of my head. There are so many good ones out there.

  4. Are you talking about “The Keeping Quilt” by Patricia Polacco? If so, yes. If not, no.
    I have not read either of the others. I will look for them @ the LAPL.
    Thanks for the suggestions.

  5. Yes, that is the book I am talking about. I know many more I just can’t think of them off the top of my head. I also like “Making Up Megaboy”, but it is for middle-early high school.

  6. [...] The First Day of School, by Eva Montanari, is a book I reviewed last year ’cause I thought it was too cute. It’s the first day of school and    doesn’t want to go. She’s scared and doesn’t want to get out of bed. Finally, her mom makes makes her get up and go to school. “After all,” her mother tells her, “you are the teacher.” [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

