The Scrambled States of America

The Scrambled States of America (2002), written and illustrated by Laurie Heller is a pretty nice little book. It originally came to my attention because it is part of the Scholastic Video Collection. So, on one of my trips to the bookstore, I read it. liked it so much that I decided to buy the Scholastic video; especially since I am working on completing my Scholastic video collection. Right now, we have 20 of the 27 videos.

I just finished reading the book to David & Phillise. Then we watched the video. I always like to do that to compare. I want the children to imagine it in their heads before they see how someone else imagined it in their head.

How did I like it? How did David & Phillise like it???

I am happy to report that they loved the book. They wanted to look at the before and after pictures of when the states switched places. It also brought up questions about the way they were dressed, which led to a conversation on what the different states were like.

One Response

  1. Oh, I love that book.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

