If One More Person Comes To Class With Celery & Carrots…

Okay, here goes. This is what bothers me. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves. I got a lil’ something I’d like to rant about. Like to hear it, here it goes.

If one more person comes to class with celery and carrots, I am going to scream. They crunch so loud. Seriously, I think those are the loudest vegetables ever. Let me tell you that loud crunching is a big pet peeve of mine. I hate it with a passion. I try to get over it because I know that everyone makes noise when they eat. Some louder than others. The ones who chew louder than anyone else are the ones who bother me.

Don’t get me wrong. I know that those snacks are healthy. Let’s face it, not everyone forced to eat on the run, going from a teaching job straight to school, will choose healthy food over fast food, but do they have to announce it to every single person in the room. I think not!

Please, for the love of God, stop all that damn loud crunching!!!!!!!!!!

That my dear sir of madam is my rant for the day.

How, Oh, How Did I Forget?

How I forgot, I don’t know, but I did. What am I talking about? I’m talking about forgetting about what works for me. On one of my first days of work, things were caraaaazy, so I stopped the whole class and let the children draw how they were feeling. I wanted them to write how they felt, but it was beyond their capabilities. So, that’s where the drawing came into play. I called it Expression. I even wrote it into my daily schedule.

So, every morning when the children came into the classroom, we said and wrote the date, then they took out their art book. I would give them about 30 minutes to draw how they felt. After they were finished, they came up to the front of the class, explained their picture, and received their applause. Well, one day I decided that that little exercise was taking up too much of the class time, so I cut it from the activities.

In the words of Julia Roberts, “…big mistake. Big, big mistake.” Most of the children didn’t have the language to express how they felt about me taking it away, so they acted up… big time. The next day I put it back and fast.

Well, silly me. Fast forward to this current school year to me somehow forgetting that Expression worked so well for me and consequently leaving it out of the schedule because I felt that it would take up too much time. After all, I’ve had the trainings now and am expected to do more.

However, I’ve come to realize that “If it ain’t broke…”, so I am putting it back in. I will find a way. I’ve seen how the class acts with and without it. So, I know that I cannot run the class without Expression. Without Expression, the children have been so unruly. It’s because they have not been able to express themselves. That was our way of connecting early in the morning, pepping them up and raising their self-esteem. Without that, the children express themselves the only way they know how… acting out.

Well, starting today, I will re-institute Expression. I’ll let you know how it goes. So, as always, here’s to continued success!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers