PINKALICIOUS by Victoria & Elizabeth Kann

Pinkalicious (2006), written and illustrated by sisters Victoria and Elizabeth Kann, is the cutest little girly book. It had me at hello. I was hooked when I saw the cover. Once I opened the cover and read it I was convinced that I needed to purchase this book for Phillise since she absolutely adores pink just as the title character does.

The book begins on a rainy day when it was too wet to go outside. So the little girl asks her Mommy to make cupcakes. What color does she want? Pink, of course! She tastes the cupcakes and decides that they are simply PINKALICIOUS! She offered one to her little brother Petey, but he’s very picky and didn’t want to eat it. So she ate it.

She takes a nap. When she wakes up she begs for just one more.

“No,” says her mom.

“You get what you get, and you don’t get upset,” she said. But she got very upset. Finally her dad tells her that she has had enough and sends her to bed.

The next morning when she wakes up she discovers that she has turned PINK! She’s pink everywhere so her mom takes her to the doctor who tells her that she has a very rare and acute case of Pinkitis. “For the next week, no more pink cupcakes, pink bubble gum, or pink cotton candy.”

“To return to normal, you must eat a steady diet of green food, her doctor tells her.”

Does she do it? What happens after that? Well, I guess you are just going to have to read it and find out for yourself.

My take- I really liked it and would recommend it to other momies to read to their pink-loving little girls. I’d say the age range is 3-8. I read it to one of my students who’s 8 and she loved it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

