A Child Is A Child by Brigitte Weninger


a_child_is_a_childA Child is a Child (2004), written by Brigitte Weninger and illustrated by Eve Tharlet, is simply a wonderful book.

When I read this book to my classroom you could hear a pin drop. The children were very impressed. I read it in response to the children acting out and calling each other names because they are different. I really liked this book because it shows that no matter what color someone is (or animals in this case), they can still love someone who doesn’t look like them.

The book begins:

“Ribbiiiitt…Ribbiiiiiitttt! When is dad coming home?”

“I don’t know,” croaked Mama Frog, worried.

“I think I’ll go look for him. Be good when I am gone.”

Mama Frog blew them a kiss and hopped off.

The two little frogs waited and waited, but Mama and Daddy Frog never came home.

The little frogs began crying. Little by little the whole village hear the sad story of how Mama and Daddy Frog will not be coming home. Right then and there Mama Mouse decides to take them in. Of course there were naysayers who thought that a mouse couldn’t possibly raise Frogs. They’re different colors, aren’t they? She’s gray and they’re green. How can it possibly work? Will Mama Mouse make it work?

What happens next is a heartwarming, tear-jerking ending. I loved it. What happened you ask? Well, I guess you’re just going to have to read it for yourself and find out. I would recommend this book for about 2nd grade +. The illustrations are a little quirky but they work with the story.

You’ll love it. The children in my class did. So did Phillise.

Leave a Reply

