Some Thoughts On The Mystery To Medicine Unit Opener


Let me just say that I am so proud of myself. I say this because even though I am on my way to getting my sea legs, I don’t have them yet. Sometimes, I am not confident with my teaching methods or plans; especially when it comes to the Unit Opener.

“These aren’t just my students,” I think. I have other students that I’m teaching now who could possibly think that I’m incompetent; or, I sometimes think about the teachers who could probably be wondering what in the world I’m teaching their students.

With my students, there are 100 4th graders altogether. So, not only am I responsible for my 13, I am responsible for 87 other 4th graders as well. This is a lot of pressure to say the least.

Well, as it turns out, I didn’t have to worry about that. The three times that I’ve participated in the Unit Openers I have been wildly successful with fantastic results. I don’t know why I always think that I’m going to bomb miserably and have so much time left over. It’s never happened during the Unit Opener. It did happen during my first month of teaching. I simply ran out of material. But, as far as it happening during the Unit Opener, no, it’s never happened.

I am tired and I’m going to take a nap. I will post about my activity later. The kids loved it. So, until I wake up people!

Leave a Reply

