I Discovered That I Am A Personalizer!


What is a personalizer? Well, it’s someone who personalizes, of course. Okay, seriously, according to the dictionary, to personalize means to cause something, especially an issue, argument, or debate to become concerned with personalities or feelings rather than with general or abstract matters. Quite a mouthful, I know. What it’s basically saying is that I take my student’s behavior personally. I talked to the school psychologist who told me that I need to stop personalizing my student’s behavior. I know that it’s irrational and I need to stop. I know that she’s right, but I don’t know how to stop doing that. Does anyone know how to do that? Please let me know! I need help!

2 thoughts on “I Discovered That I Am A Personalizer!

  1. The way that I am successful in not taking my students behaviour personally is to remember that a student is reacting to my role as teacher and not to me personally as a teacher. So when they act out, they are acting out at the role I have and not me. I just tell myself that. It helps most of the time.

    If I cannot reach a student then I tell myself that the student isn’t ready yet and maybe someone in the future can reach the student when the student is ready. Students have to be ready to acept your help and support.

    Studies have shown that kids take out the emotional pain they have from things at home on you the teacher. You are just a handy target.
    I wrote about that in a post http://www.teachersatrisk.com/2008/11/28/students-project-their-emotional-stress-onto-teachers-and-the-outcome-is-not-condusive-to-learning/

    I hope this helps.

  2. I read your above mentioned blog post and agree. Your post reminded me so much of one of my students. Even though it doesn’t make things better, I understand now.

Leave a Reply

