Parent From Hell vs. The Teacher!

**Warning- this post is a little long**
I, the teacher who cannot take anymore.
Debra, the parent from hell who believes everything her child says.

fire_and_brimstoneTwo people. Two very different situations. Yet, we are forever bound to each other. Why?
We’ve been able to see things from each other’s perspective. I have to say, though, that I have always been able to see the parent’s point of view, but had simply ceased to care. I was so overwhelmed that I just wanted everything to be over one way or another. Whether it was me quitting, the child moving to another school, etc.
I know that connecting with Debra is divine intervention. I talked a little bit about it last week (in this post) when I wrote about how she told me off.
N-e way, we’re sorta’ going through the same thing, but we’re on opposite ends of the spectrum.
This is what I’m going through: Absolute hell with one of my students who is the student from hell who also has the mother from hell who will literally curse out someone in a minute. She will do it in front of anyone (including Kindergarten students).
This is what Debra’s going through: Almost the same thing, but in reverse. She’s going through h*** with her daughter’s IEP team. In this case she is the parent from hell and her daughter is the student from hell who the teacher wants out of the classroom. I say this is divine intervention because I almost never talk to her. When I do we just “happen” to start talking about her problems dealing with special ed.
I had to set her straight. I told her that every child, at one time or another, lies; that she couldn’t believe everything her child said. I asked her how she feels now that she sees it happening to a teacher that she knows.
What good came out of this? After our little heart to heart, she’s able to see things from a different point of view- the teacher’s. You see, to Debra, the teacher was the enemy. She was the parent from hell who would go up to the school talking very loudly, ready to fight the teacher because she believed every single word that came out of her child’s mouth.
That’s what changed her mind!
Until next time people!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers