Continually Renewing Myself!

I have to keep renewing my mind because I was beginning to show signs of burn out after less than 2 years. I will be the first to admit that I have one of the hardest jobs. It’s in a low-income, high crime area. The children have behavior problems that are challenging at best. I get up some mornings and don’t feel like going to work because I know that it is going to be so intense.
A couple of times I have felt like walking right out the school and not returning. However, I know that I need this job to do silly things like paying the mortgage and buying my children food and clothes.
Even if it weren’t for that, I promised myself that I would quit teaching if I felt like I was feeling the past couple weeks.
Ya’ know what, I really thought about it because I got to the point where I didn’t care as much. If I couldn’t have pulled myself outof that funk, I would have. Thankfully I really sat down and thought about what was really important. I had to ask myself if I was going to let one student make me give up my dream of being a teacher. My answer was a resounding no. No one person is worth giving up your dream for. So, I made up my mind to renew my mind. I told myself to remember why I wanted to be a teacher. I wanted to make a difference, and I have. Renewing yourself/your mind constantly is a must if you’re going to live in this world.
Until next time people!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

