I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, & Doggone It, People Like me! Part 2


I have been in such a slump, nay, a funk. I haven’t been doing homework, or lesson plans, or housework. I pretty much haven’t been doing anything. I have been sabotaging myself.
I have it all figured out. This is what’s going on. After becoming a mother for the first time @ 19, and the second time, shortly thereafter, @ 21, I thought it was a wrap. I never thought I’d get this far in my life. I had counted myself out. Now, that having my Master’s from a prestigious university is within my grasp, I don’t know what to do. I really find it hard to believe that I’ve pulled myself up by my bootstrap and am doing the damn thing.
I’m scared.
No one in my immediate family has a Bachelor’s degree, let alone a Master’s degree. I hope that my children will change that. N-e way, back to what I was talking about.
What everything boils down to is that I’m so scared of failing that I’m failing myself. I feel like I don’t deserve it.
Now is the time to face my fears and believe that I do deserve to have that Bachelor’s degree in Human Development from Azusa Pacific that I worked so hard for. I do deserve my teaching credential and Master’s degree from Loyola Marymount University that I am almost killing myself to obtain. I do deserve all of the things I’ve worked so hard for.
You know why- (in the words of Stuart Smalley) I’m good enough. I’m smart enough and doggone it, people like me!

Leave a Reply

