Pretty Pencil Pinwheels (Easy summer craft)

Pretty Pencil Pinwheel

This is one of the crafts were going to do tomorrow @The Book Club. It’s very easy to make.

Taken from: http://crafts.kaboose.com/pretty-pencil-pinwheel.html

By: Amanda Formaro

Difficulty: Easy

Age: 7 and up

(4.5/5)

Pinwheels are an age old craft that your Grandma will remember. Put together these pretty wind decorations and stick them in your garden.

What you’ll need:

  • Colored card stock or construction paper
  • Thumbtack or stick pin
  • Pencil with new eraser
  • White craft glue
  • Scissors
  • Sequins
  • Pattern

How to make it:

  1. Print the pattern onto plain copy or printer paper.
  2. Cut the square pattern out, cutting on the solid lines.
  3. Lay pattern on top of colored paper and trace the square. Cut out the square from the colored paper.
  4. Keep the pattern square on top of the colored square. Either hold it in place with your fingers or tape it down lightly on two of the sides.
  5. Cut through the pattern and the colored paper along the dotted lines but do not cut in to the center circle.
  6. Use a thumbtack or stick pin to poke out the holes in every other corner as indicated on the pattern. Set the pattern piece aside.
  7. Take one corner (one with a hole) and fold it toward the center of the square. Fold the next corner that has a hole and fold it toward the center on top of the first holed corner. Repeat with the other two corners with holes until all four are folded into the center. Glue the folds to each other and to the center. Hold together until dry.
  8. Push the thumbtack through the center of the pinwheel and into the eraser of the pencil. Make sure the pinwheel isn’t touching the eraser or it won’t spin.
  9. Glue some sequins to the flaps of the pinwheel and let dry.

Tips:

  • You can use plain white paper and have children color with crayons or markers to decorate before cutting out the pinwheel pattern.
  • Decorate with lightweight items such as sequins and stickers or glitter glue. Items like buttons and craft jewels are too heavy.
  • If the pinwheel isn’t turning properly, try using a longer stick pin rather than a thumbtack to allow more room between the pinwheel and the eraser.

Happenings & Things To Do In South Central L.A. & Surrounding Areas

Necessity truly is the mother of invention. While I am grateful for L.A. Parent magazine, all of the happenings are in the outerlying areas of L.A., like Torrance to Pasadena, even as far away as LaCañada Flintridge. I don’t mind traveling sometimes, but LaCañada Flintridge is way too far for a 2 hour event that I could find closer in.

That’s why I’m going to put out a weekly or bi-weekly newsletter (I haven’t decided yet) for those who want something a little closer than Torrance, Pasadena or LaCañada Flintridge. I will compile a listing of things in the surrounding areas of free or very low-cost activities to do with your children and family this summer. I wish I would have thought of it sooner. I know it’s because I have more time. Last year at this time the only things I wanted to do was sleep and absolutely nothing. That is not the case now. I’m so less stressed now. I am very, very near to completing my Master’s/Credential program, so my mind is clearer. I’m adjusting to life with much more time on my hand. Something I haven’t had a lot of these past couple years. Now that I have the time, I plan on using it wisely.

Here’s to the summer and having fun with your family! Bye for now!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers