Posted in life, teaching

If At First You Don’t Succeed…


I’ve been working very hard trying to learn bookbinding. Trying is the key word. I’m afraid I am not having much success. Every time I think I’ve gotten a technique down, I screw something up the next time I try to do it. I am so frustrated right now. I’m even more frustrated because I was trying to teach Phillise as I’m learning. It is so hard to teach a hotheaded child something. Hmmm…I wonder where she got that from?

I’m not sure if I want to teach her anymore. It frustrates me and her. I think I’ll just pay for someone else to teach her. The problem began when I was trying to show her how to make a simple origami box that did not seem to want to cooperate. I was getting frustrated and needed some time to calm down. It certainly didn’t help that she was frustrated & tried to run off at the mouth. I told her that sometimes you need to start from scratch. By this time she was almost in tears, but I made her go through the process anyway while I tried to throw a little wisdom in there.  Although I didn’t, I wanted to, we continued.

Moral of the story? I’m still not sure. I’m thinking that it’s if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. But that will only bring her to tears. I’m also thinking that I need to continue working with my daughter, ignore the big crocodile tears & march on. It could also be…

I don’t know. I’m tired & need to calm down. Maybe I need to make a lesson plan before I attempt this again.