Posted in book reviews, teaching

Fenwick’s Suit by David Small


Fenwick’s Suit (1996), written and illustrated by David Small is a funny, quirky little book. I love David Smalls as an author and as an illustrator. I’ve said this before about other books and I’ll say it again, “I could have written this book.” It is so silly. I mean, just look at the cover of this book. What do you see? You don’t know, do you? But, do you want to find out? Of course you do. That’s the beauty of a combination of a great illustrator, colors, and marketing.

I love the feeling of looking back at a cover once the book is read. That’s when I get a full understanding of the hidden meanings. It’s like it’s a secret the author lets you have access to once you’ve read their masterpiece.

I’m not going to tell you what the cover’s all about. You’re going to have to read it for yourself to find out. What I can tell you is a little bit about the book.

The book is fantastic. The illustrations are fabulous. They are what caught my eye in the first place. As you can see by the picture and can guess by the title, this book is about a suit. Not an ordinary suit though. This suit, Fenwick’s Suit, takes on a life of its’ own. Poor Fenwick. He has no friends, he’s ignored by all his co-workers. He thinks it’s because of the way he’s Continue reading “Fenwick’s Suit by David Small”