How Do I Determine the Reading Level of A Book?


How Do I Determine the Reading Level of a Book? Well, that’s a good question. I wondered that very question aloud in a classroom where I worked as an assistant before I became a teacher. The teacher was very knowledgeable. As so often happens when you’re around very knowledgeable people, a question is rewarded with a very knowledgeable answer. She showed me where it’s printed on the back of the book. If you turn the book over on some books, you may see something like RL 2.6. This stands for Reading Level for a child in 2nd grade, the 6th month of school.

Because of my experience, I can automatically look @ a book and tell what the reading level is. I know that not everyone can do this, so I’ve compiled several different ways of determining the reading level of a book.

  • First, there’s the 5 Finger test method. As your child mispronounces a word, hold up a finger up. If you have put up all your fingers by the time your child is through the page for a longer page or a paragraph for the whole book, it’s too hard for them.

On the same website as above, there’s a test that I’d never heard of called the Goldilocks test. When you think about it it makes perfect sense. By asking yourself or someone else a few simple questions, you can determine if the book is too easy, too hard, or just right. Here’s the link: GOLDILOCKS RULE.

This list is by no means exhaustive, but should be very helpful!

HERE’S TO 2010!

Leave a Reply

